Tyrrell Wins Cleveland Shoot-Out in Playoff

Greater Cleveland Skins Game

2009 Cleveland Shoot-Out Golf Champion Pat TyrrellIn a dramatic sudden death playoff, Pat Tyrrell of Sagamore Hills won the 2009 Greater Cleveland Shoot-Out Championship.

On a wet Labor Day Monday at Chardon Lakes Golf Course, Tyrrell and Steve Blackburn Jr. of Willowick each posted a score of 75 from the black tees in the stroke play event run every season for players of the Greater Cleveland Skins Game.

Greater Cleveland Skins GameComing in, Blackburn Jr. appeared to be the man to beat, since he is a past Shoot-Out winner and just won the Briardale Greens club championship the day before with 67-66. But Tyrrell noted that “he had the putter going well” coming into the day, and in the end he backed it up with critical putts to take the title.  

Tyrrell made a critical bogey saving putt at his last hole in regulation to tie Blackburn. Then Tyrrell and Blackburn each had 10-foot birdie putts on the par-4 first hole in the playoff. Blackburn lipped out his putt attempt first, then Tyrrell made his downhill putt to claim his first Greater Cleveland Shoot-Out title and with it the $750 prize.

Blackburn Jr. took home $400 for his second place finish.

Finishing in third place was Rob Schustrich of Windham with a 76 good for $250, while Dave Sotka of Chardon finished fourth with a 77 for $200, and Paul Kish of Painesville Township fired a 78 for fifth place and $100. The event was sponsored by Steve Sports Inc. and Blonde John Ticket Sales.

Rob Skebe and Rob Schustrich were the big skin winners on the day, as Skebe birdied the fifth hole and Schustrich birdied the tenth, worth  $380 each. Complete results below.

Chardon Lakes Golf Club, Monday, September 7, 2009

Pat Tyrrell, Sagamore Hills     35-40=75    $750  (Won in Playoff)
Steve Blackburn Jr. , Willowick     37-38=75    $400
Rob Schustrich, Windham     40-36=76    $250
Dave Sotka, Chardon     39-38=77   $200
Paul Kish, Painesville Twp.     39-39=78   $100
Steve Blackburn Sr., Lyndhurst     40-40=80
Mark Foss, Mayfield Heights     40-41=81
Tom Evans, Perry     41-41=82
Sam Corab, Painesville     40-42=82
Scott Mackar, Orwell     44-39=83
John Niedzialek, Concord     40-44=84
Jarrod Dixon, Ashtabula     44-40=84
Nick Anagnost, Willoughby     40-44=84
Mike Angie, Mayfield Heights     41-44=85
Phil Bojc, Willoughby     45-40=85
Geoff Nicely, Concord     43-43=86
Rob Skebe, Richmond Heights     43-44=87
Dave Dufala, Saybrook     45-46=91
Joe DiDonato, Olmsted Falls     NC

Previous Hedrick Coasts to Turkeyfoot Championship
Next ADGA Player of the Year Event at Portage CC