Snyder & Oates Win 2008 ADGA Lazor

Akron District Golf Association

ADGAThe team of Vaughn Snyder and Dave Oates won the Akron District Golf Association’s 2008 Lazor Memorial Better Ball tournament today, and did so in convincing fashion.

Snyder, who on Friday won the 2008 Ohio Amateur Championship at Findlay CC, and his partner Oates, winner of last year’s Summit and Stark County Amateurs, cruised to a 6 & 5 win over the team of Jim Cea and Anthony Yacovazzi in the 36-hole final match at Rawiga CC.

Snyder and Oates played the first 18 holes of the final match in 7-under par.

But it took both teams a bit of work to make it to the finals. In Saturday morning’s quarterfinals at Chippewa GC, Larry Horner and Tim Davis gave Oates and Snyder a great run, but eventually lost to the championship pair on the final hole, 1-up.  Cea and Yacovazzi beat Randy Skorman in 19 holes; Skorman’s partner Dean Cutlip could not play, but Skorman made an admirable stand playing “1 on 2”.

In the semifinals on Saturday afternoon, Cea and Yacovazzi beat Aaron Crewse and Jeff Covert 2-up, while Oates and Snyder took down Tom Stiller and Mike Armour 2 & 1.

Complete results follow; see the Match Play Bracket here.

1  Dave Oates / Vaughn Snyder  $800
2  Anthony Yacovazzi / Jim Cea  $600
T3  Aaron Crewse / Jeff Covert  $400
T3  Mike Armour / Tom Stiller  $400
T5  Tim Davis / Larry Horner  $200
T5  Matt Considine / Colin Clemente  $200
T5  Randy Skorman / Dean Cutlip  $200
T5  Chris Minear / Rich Slivinski  $200

— Tim Davis & Allen Freeman

The Custom Logo Factory: Custom Apparel and Promotional Products

Previous Jerry Miller Captures 2008 Senior Cleveland Am
Next Selzer Pops Chippewa in CGA Event