It was a beautiful day for golf at Windmill Lakes Golf Course and four golfers in the 88th Record-Courier Portage County Amateur presented by the host course took full advantage of the conditions.

Bud Radis of Aurora (pictured above), Brian Smith of Amherst, Matt Frey of Broadview Heights and Jimmy Wild of Sagamore Hills each turned in scorecards with three-over-par 73’s to lead their respective County and Open Divisions.

Radis is seeking his third victory in the Portage County Amateur.

The stand-out golfer for Aurora and the Miami University Red Hawks, continued his outstanding golf with a solid round on a tough Windmill Lakes Golf Course that gave many excellent golfers problems on Saturday.

For Radis, it is a family affair as his dad, David Radis was playing in his first tournament, firing an 88, and his brother, Luke Radis, who just played in the Matt Mishler Junior Portage County Amateur and will be on the Aurora Greenmen’s roster this season, scored an 87.

Joining Bud Radis in the championship final pairing today at Sugar Bush Golf Course is Derek Miller of Garrettsville (77) and Cole Smith of Kent (79).

Miller, two-time player of the year in the PTC County Division for Garfield High School, stands in a solid place just four strokes off the lead. It’s a good week for Miller who just earned a runner-up award at the Northern Ohio PGA Kenny Novak Championship Tournament.

Smith, a former Kent Roosevelt High School golfer just completed his fourth year at Ashland University. He is in a three-way tie with Michael Avalon of Aurora and Laszlo May of Rootstown.


Three 73’s top the Open Division with former champion Brian Smith of Amherst taking the lead in the championship pairing with Matt Frey of Broadview Heights and Jimmy Wild of Sagamore Hills. For Frey and Wild, it is their first time playing in the Portage County Amateur.

There are 11 scores under 80 in the Open Division that promises a great competition on the fairways of Sugar Bush Golf Course in Garrettsville.

Macie Hysell 2018 Portage Co Am RD1


Macie Hysell (above), a junior on the Notre Dame College team in Euclid, was the first Player of the Year in the PTC Girls Division when the Portage Trail Conference introduced girls golf. Now, a starter for Notre Dame, she fired an 82 on Saturday at Windmill Lakes Golf Club.


While the Radis family had three golfers, the Avalon family of Aurora both had brother’s playing in the event.

Michael Avalon and Alex Avalon, both outstanding golfers for the Aurora Greenmen had their own wager on the course with Michael winning the bet.

Michael finished with a 79 and Alex only two strokes behind his younger brother with an 81.


The championship pairing in the County Division tees off at 10:10 a.m. with the final pairing in the Open Division playing toward the championship at 11:50 a.m.

Tee times begin at 8:40 with the women’s division.

Awards, trophies and gift certificates are presented as each division concludes in Garrettsville.


Portage County Record-Courier
88th Record-Courier Portage County Amateur
presented by Windmill Lakes
Windmill Lake Golf Course, Ravenna
Saturday, July 28, 2018

Bud Radis, Aurora 73
Derek Miller, Garrettsville 77
Cole Smith, Kent 79
Michael Avalon, Aurora 79
Laszlo May, Rootstown 79
Ben Jenior, Rootstown 80
Dove Fall, Windham 80
Ed Marsinek, Streetsboro 80
Philip Lago, Streetsboro 80
Chris Plute, Streetsboro 81
Alex Avalon, Aurora 81
Nick Polichena, Ravenna 81
Chad Brazil, Streetsboro 82
Frank Livak, Brimfield 83
Ryan Hostetler, Suffield 84
Mark Mitchell, Ravenna 85
Randy Wilburn, Deerfield 87
Luke Radis, Aurora 87
David Radis, Aurora 88
Nate Wachtel, Streetsboro 88
Mike Schustrich, Windham 88
Mike Williams, Mogadore 89
Touren Roubic, Windham 93
Brian Binegar, Ravenna 93
Evan Chapple, Rootstown 94
Jaret Golgosky, Ravenna 100

Brian Smith, Amherst 73
Matt Frey, Broadview Hts. 73
Jimmy Wild, Sagamore Hills 73
Drake Tobias, Macedonia 75
Jay Prospel, Macedonia 75
Ryan Stefanski, Sagamore Hills 76
Dennis Lawler, Hudson 77
Luke Liberatore, Solon 77
Michael Furey, Twinsburg 78
Alex Loftin, Macedonia 78
Benjamin Meola, Painesville 79
Mike Brenner, Akron 80
Jimmy Hinton, North Canton 80
Andrew Malkus, Maple Heights 81
Adam Belvin Cuyahoga Falls 81
Thomas Smith, Fairview Park 81
Tom Jalbert, Akron 82
Sammy DiMeo, Akron 82
Dan Terry, Brunswick 82
Lou D’Amico, Sagamore Hills 83
Clay Mayer, Brecksville 84
Larry Kerns, Shaker Heights 85
Jared Budner, Macedonia 85
Scott Reys, Cleveland 90
Dustin Buehler, Akron 90
Matt Bright, Alliance 90
Bill Mooney, Brunswick 93

Macie Hysell, Ravenna 82
Brooke Tessean, Edinburg DNF


Sugar Bush Golf Course, Garrettsville
Sunday, July 29, 2018

8:40 Macie Hysell, Ravenna; Brooke Tessean, Edinburg.

8:50 Evan Chapple, Rootstown; Jaret Golgosky, Ravenna.
9:00 Mike Williams, Mogadore Toren Roubic, Windham; Brian Binegar, Ravenna.
9:10 David Radis, Aurora; Nate Wachtel, Streetsboro; Mike Schustrich, Windham.
9:20 Mark Mitchell, Ravenna; Randy Wilburn Deerfield; Luke Radis, Aurora.
9:30 Chad Brazil, Streetsboro; Frank Livak, Brimfield; Ryan Hostetler, Suffield.
9:40 Chris Plute, Streetsboro; Alex Avalon, Aurora; Nick Polichena, Ravenna.
9:50 Dove Fall, Windham; Ed Marsinek, Streetsboro; Phil Lago, Streetsboro.
10:00 Michael Avalon, Aurora; Laszlo May, Rootstown; Ben Jenior, Rootstown.
10:10 Bud Radis, Aurora; Derek Miller, Garrettsville; Cole Smith, Kent.

10:30 Dustin Buehler, Akron Matt Bright, Alliance; Bill Mooney, Brunswick.
10:40 Larry Kerns, Shaker Heights; Jared Budner, Macedonia; Scott Reys, Cleveland.
10:50 Dan Terry, Akron; Lou D’Amico, Sagamaore Hills; Clay Mayer, Brecksville.
11:00 Thomas Smith, Fairview Park; Tom Jalbert, Akron; Sammy DiMeo, Akron.
11:10 Jimmy Hinton, Norton Canton; Andrew Malkus, Maple Heights; Adam Belvin, Cuyahoga Falls.
11:20 Alex Loftin, Macedonia; Benjamin Meola, Painsville; Mike Brenner, Akron.
11:30 Dennis Lawler, Hudson; Luke Liberatore, Solon; Michael Furey, Twinsburg.
11:40 Drake Tobias, Macedonia; Jay Prospel, Macedonia; Ryan Stefanski, Sagamore Hills.
11:50 Brian Smith, Amherst; Matt Frey, Broadview Heights; Jimmy Wild, Sagamore Hills.

Previous Crain's Features Don Padgett III Bridgestone Look-Back
Next ROUND 1 RESULTS: 2018 Ohio Public Links Championship