RESULTS: 2016 Zoar Labatt Senior Amateur

LabattThe Labatt Senior Amateur was held Saturday at Zoar Golf Club just north of Dover, Ohio. This one-day tournament featured three age brackets.

Joe HedrickJoe Hedrick of Barberton (left) successfully defended his title for those age 70 and older. His score of 69 was four strokes better than his friend Jim Tarter of Akron, who shot 73. Dave Fowler of Canton finished third with a score of 76; his round was highlighted by a HOLE IN ONE on #13! There were 6 skins.

Jeff DeanJeff Dean (Akron, right) was awarded the Champions Trophy for the age 60+ group after his stellar round of 66. Jeff’s brother Bruce Dean (Akron) finished in second place with a score of 70. Fred Martin (Akron) was third at 74. There were 5 skins.

Geoff BurgeThe largest field of the day was for those ages 50-59. Geoff Burge (Aurora, left) was successful in holding off Mark Mickley (Apple Valley) to win his second consecutive title. Burge was even par on the day. Milo Yoder (Sugarcreek) was third at 75. Three players tied for fourth place with 76: Lou Boarman (Cuyahoga Falls), John Niedzialek (Concord), and Randy Crider (Brunswick). There were 3 skins.

Zoar Village Golf ClubCongratulation to the Senior Amateur Champions!

1 Comment

  1. John Niedzialek
    June 13, 2016

    Just wanted to send some praise over to the management of Zoar Golf Course for doing a class act job in running the tournament today for amateur seniors. The tournament was well run and sponsored. It cost players only $50 total for green fees & cart, payout of merchandise, skins game, and lunch afterward. The course was also in great shape. If only more amateur tournaments were run like this one at such a great value to our amateur players. I have never met the people there at the clubhouse until today but I want to give credit where credit is due. It is already on my tournament calendar for next year! Please send the USGA staff to Zoar for some training.

Previous RESULTS: 2016 North Coast Junior Tour @ Punderson
Next PHOTO GALLERY: 2016 Ungvary Memorial