RESULTS: 2015 Record-Courier Portage County Senior Amateur

Rob Schustrich

Three new champions were crowned on Sunday during the 45th edition of the Record-Courier Senior Amateur Championship.

During the final 18 holes, rain greeted the golfers at the beginning of the round, something golfers have not seen very much of since June. But it didn’t discourage the golfers seeking the championship in the three age divisions contested.

When all strokes were counted, Rob Schustrich of Windham, Steve Bedell of Brecksville and Jerry Bobbs of Ravenna became the champions of the Senior, Gold and Platinum Divisions.

Rob Schustrich

Rob Schustrich won the Portage County Amateur in 1998, 2001 and 2004. Already holding that title three times, Schustrich won the Senior Division, ages 50-to-59, in his first year in the event.

Scoring an even-par 70 at Windmill Lakes Golf Club, Schustrich bested the field by four strokes.

“It was that ham-and-eggs day you hear about,” said Schustrich who said he scrambled all day to score that final 70.

Schustrich has been almost perfect in recent weeks, as the Portage County Senior Amateur is his third victory. Schustrich won the 2015 Chippewa Championship and the Senior Summit County Amateur Championship all in the last month.

There was a three-way tie for second place between Ed Marsinek of Shalersville, Frank Livak of Brimfield and Robert Gintert of Newton Falls.

Marsinek finished second after the scorecard playoff followed by Livak.

Two-time champion Dave Cutlip of Suffield finished in a tie for fifth place with Saturday’s leader, George Allen of Warren, who faltered on Sunday to fire a 78.

A big move up the leaderboard was accomplished by Mike Robbins who had fired an 81 on Saturday at Oak Knolls only to come back with a 73 at Windmill Lakes.



The seniors, ages 60 to 69 saw Steve Bedell of Brecksville leap to the top of the leaderboard with the only under-par round of the tournament, finishing with a sterling one-under-par 69 at Windmill Lakes.

That 18-hole round gave Bedell a two-stroke lead over John Sloe of Aurora, the 2013 champion.

Sloe put together two solid rounds of 73-74 for a 147 final score.

It is a golfing family for the Sloe’s who saw their son Chris, former Portage County Junior Amateur Champion, leave to play collegiate golf at John Carroll University this fall.

Bedell has played in many tournaments this summer but this was best finish.

Joe Hedrick of Akron won the tiebreaker against Tom Stack, also of Akron, for third place.

Former Amateur Champion Butch Morrette of Twin Lakes tied for sixth place.



Jerry BobbsJerry Bobbs was thrilled to grab the championship again in the Platinum Division, after taking home the trophy in 2013.

Bobbs topped Ron Rhome of Ravenna by three strokes and Dan Bania, also of Ravenna by seven strokes as the top three in the 70-and-older age division.

One note, Bob Mishler who started his tournament with a 91, scored an 82 for his final 18 holes to hole-out with a score less than his age in the oldest division of golfers.



The Record-Courier Portage County Senior Amateur experienced record numbers this season in its first stand-alone tournament. Seniors will compete in the 46th Senior Amateur in 2016 on the final weekend in August as the tournament will continue to be the spotlight to close the amateur season for Portage County golfers.


Portage County Amateur Golf Championship

Saturday, Aug. 29, 2015 Oak Knolls Golf Club, Kent
Sunday, Aug. 30, 2015 Windmill Lakes Golf Course, Ravenna



Robert Schustrich, Windham 75-70 145

Ed Marsinek, Shalersville 76-73 149

Frank Livak, Brimfield 75-74 149

Robert Gintert, Newton Falls 76-73 149

Dave Cutlip, Suffield 77-75 152

George Allen, Warren 74-78 152

Mike Robbins, Chagrin Falls 81-73 154

Ray Prokop, Cleveland 80-74 154

Randy Crider, Brunswick 79-77 156

Geoffrey Burge, Aurora 81-76 157

Dave Peck, Macedonia 77-81 158

Mark Thomas, Jackson 84-75 159

Steve DeBolt, Newton Falls 81-78 159

Troy Luckenbaugh, Uniontown 86-75 161

Mike Lacivita, Ravenna 84-80 164

Ron Rositani, Willowick 82-85 167

Terry Besaw, Ravenna 82-85 167

James Franks, Ravenna 84-84 168

Ray Durban, Cleveland 85-84 169

Ray Rousseau, Kent 86-83 169

Randy Wilburn, Deerfield 84-86 170

Haroon Ismail, Youngstown 88-95 173

Doug Hull, Akron 89-84 173

Jim Mullenix, Rootstown 91-92 183



Steve Bedell, Brecksville 76-69 145

John Sloe, Aurora 73-74 147

Joe Hedrick, Akron 73-75 148

Tom Stack, Akron 72-76 148

Jim Hercheck, Chagrin Falls 74-74 148

Joe Holcomb, Atwater 76-78 154

Butch Morrette, Twin Lakes 76-78 154

Tom Reed, Silver Lake 76-79 155

Gerald Musiel, Chagrin Falls 79-77 156

Tom Shuster, Southington 79-77 156

Matt Habbyshaw, Aurora 81-76 157

Jeff Luken, Middleburg Hts. 78-80 158

Jim Cofojohn, Mantua 72-86 158

David Pifer, Mantua 82-78 160

Chuck Hall, Atwater 79-81 160

Ted Reminder, Streetsboro 80-82 162

Bob Goulish, Tallmadge 81-81 162

Neil Callen, Kent 79-84 163

Don Labaj, Berea 80-84 164

Bill Fillner, Ravenna 81-83 164

Donald Miller, Kent 80-85 165

Bob Wright, Rootstown 102-105 207



Jerry Bobbs, Ravenna 76-74 150

Ron Rhome, Ravenna 78-75 153

Dan Bania, Ravenna 79-78 157

Bob Harwell, Akron 80-77 157

Robert Hall, Ravenna 84-77 161

Eli Maravich, Mogadore 88-84 172

Terry Bonar, Aurora 87-86 173

Bob Mishler, Garrettsville 91-82 173

Previous RESULTS: 2015 Yuengling Tuscarawas County Championship
Next RESULTS: Aug 2015 Paradise Lake Scramble Series