FINAL RESULTS: 2012 Big Met Course Championship and Cleveland Amateur Qualifying Event

Cleveland Metroparks Golf

Big Met Golf CourseBryan Yeo from Litchfield ran away from the rest of the field, scoring an incredible, record-setting seven shot victory on Sunday.

Yeo won the Big Met Course championship with a sterling 10-under par score of 66-68 for a 134 total.

Former course champion Brian Smith from Amherst finished alone in second place. Smith shot a steady 71-70 for a 3-under par 141 total.

Bill Bergold of Westlake finished in third place with a 2-under par 142 total.

After excluding the already exempt players, exactly 10 players at a score of 148 and below qualified for the Greater Cleveland Amateur at Manakiki Golf Course the second week of August.

The shot of the tournament was made by Matthew Michal of Brecksville, who made an ALBATROSS hole-in-one on Saturday on the 298-yard par 4 17th hole. Matthew kept the momentum going on Sunday morning by making an eagle-2 on the par-4 first hole. For the three holes 17, 18, and 1 he went 5 under par with a par. Unfortunately the heroics weren’t enough, as he finished in a tie for 33rd with a 155 total.

See the record of all the Cleveland Metroparks Course Championships since 1993.

FINAL RESULTS: 2012 Big Met Course Championship
and Cleveland Amateur Qualifying Tournament

Big Met Golf Course, Fairview Park, Ohio
Saturday and Sunday, July 21 – 22, 2012 | Par 72

1Bryan Yeo6668134
2Brian Smith7170141
3Bill Bergold6775142
4Matthew Frey7372145
5Alex Brinkman7472146
6Joe Puch7473147
6Ray Prokop7572147
6Charlly Pak7671147
6Paul Minko7671147
10Aaron Osysko7375148
10Steve Bedell7672148
10Sean Mcguire7870148
13Chris Richardson7376149
13Brian VanDeMotter7475149
13Collin Holmes7475149
13Matthew Kreider7574149
13Scott Abercrombie7673149
18Ryan Workman7773150
19Ron Miller7675151
19Matt Urie7873151
19Mike Beres7972151
22Kevin Richardson7379152
22Chris Knevel7478152
22Jerry Hawks7577152
22Mike Witmer7577152
22Zach Champa7973152
27William Schwartz III7479153
27Craig Stewart7677153
27Matt Gibel7776153
30Tim Smith7084154
30Chad Thompson7777154
30Michael Scherer8074154
33Matthew Michal7481155
33Chris Helaney7877155
33David Vicker7877155
33Tony Smith7877155
33Tim Greff7976155
38Mike Cauley7878156
38Tim Straka7977156
38Chris Davis8076156
41Patrick Coughlin7780157
41Thomas Bertsch7780157
41Chris Horne8275157
41John Douglas8671157
45Kyle Jacob7979158
46Andrew Zgrabik8080160
47Jim Sidun8279161
48Erik Mosley8379162
49Anthony Caponi8677163
50Dan Straka8183164
50Steven Steinhilber8183164
52Ernie Bilek8085165
52Eric Sloan8184165
54Carl Behrens8383166
54Andrew Malkus8680166
56Matt Studier8384167
57Gary Paparizos8385168
57Aaron Millet8880168
59Harry Hewitt8684170
60Bob Collins8586171
60Jeff Hensley8982171
62Pat Tournoux8983172
63William Reed9284176
64Tim Rapsik9682178
65Christopher Kazee9693189
Previous FINAL RESULTS: 2012 Manakiki Course Championship and Cleveland Am Qualifying Event
Next FINAL RESULTS: 2012 U.S. Amateur Qualifier