Leeds and Anderson Ace and Eagle Their Way to a Win in the Turkeyfoot 2-Man Spring Scramble

Jason Leeds (left) and Tyler Anderson produced some big shots at the Turkeyfoot 2-M Scramble

The team of Tyler Anderson and Jason Leeds opened their round at the Turkeyfoot 2-Man Scramble on Saturday with an eagle-2 on the par-4 first hole.

Then Leeds added to the team’s fireworks, making an incredible hole-in-one on a pin tucked below the ridge in the front left corner of the 137-yard par-3 17th.

The central Ohio pair went on to finish at solid 9-under par 62 to win the event by a single shot over three teams.

They also won a skin. But the big story: the skins was NOT for the ace on 17.

A couple hours after Leeds made his hole-in-one on the seventeenth, 14-year-old Will Bethune aced the exact same hole to cancel the skin!

Bethune was playing for the first time at the Turkeyfoot scramble, partnering with stepdad Drew Thompson. It was Will’s first ever hole-in-one.

Will and Drew were not aware that Leeds had made his ace earlier in the day, but even when told the skin had been tied by an earlier ace, the smile still didn’t leave Will’s face.

The golf course was in perfect condition, the weather beautiful, and the hole locations were their typical high-level of difficulty. Several teams made the turn at 5-under par on the front nine, but only Leeds and Anderson could reach the 9-under par mark. Finishing in a three-way tie for second place at 8-under par 63 were the teams of Randy Skorman and Tom Markham, Norton Brick and Brian Smith, and Dr. Jeff Mallette and Mike Kracker.

Thanks to Charlie Mozingo, Tim Davis, and Dave Chapple for all their efforts in running a truly fun event.

2011 Turkeyfoot Spring 2-Man Scramble

Turkeyfoot Lake Golf Links, Akron Ohio
Saturday, May 22, 2010
Par 71

1. Tyler Anderson / Jason Leeds 62 (-9) $740/team

T2. Tom Markham / Randy Skorman 63 (-8) $540/team
T2. Norton Brick / Brian Smith 63 (-8) $540/team
T2. Jeff Mallette / Mike Kracker 63 (-8) $540/team

T5. Aaron Crewes / Brian Vincelette 64 (-7) $325/team
T5. Mark Thomas / Ross Beal 64 (-7) $325/team
T5. R Essick / C Woody Jr 64 (-7) $325/team

T8. Matt Heestad / Jeff Bognar 65 (-6) $165/team
T8. Mike Armour / Dave Trier 65 (-6) $165/team
T8. Mike Simpson / Jim Krivaneck 65 (-6) $165/team
T8. Phillips / Davis 65 (-6) $165/team

SKINS: $220 each
Eagle #1 – Anderson/Leeds
Eagle #5 – Essick / Woody
Eagle #7 – Markham / Skorman
Eagle #10 – Tarter / Hedrick
Eagle #14 – Simpson / Krivaneck

Previous RESULTS: 2011 Big Met Spring Tour 2-M Jumble
Next FINAL RESULTS: 2011 SCAGA Spring Classic