Record Courier Portage County Amateur ChampionshipsIt was a day of great golf for the competitors in the 49th Senior Portage County Amateur Championship at Sugar Bush Golf Course in Garrettsville.

Golfers playing in the largest field in the history of the event enjoyed beautiful weather, fast rounds and low scores as both the Gold and the Platinum divisions are led by golfers firing under-par scores. In the Senior Division, three scores within two shots of even par.

All three divisions find former amateur champions in position to either defend their title or move up in the standings to challenge the early leaders as the tourney concludes at Windmill Lakes, the title sponsor of the event, today.


Geoffrey BurgeGeoffrey Burge of Aurora (left) took the lead in the clubhouse with a one-over-par round that started with a birdie and finished with a bogey. His 73 set the standard for others to chase with Dave Peck of Macedonia and Ray McNiece of Cleveland joining Burge in the championship threesome. The two each carded a two-over-par 74.

Defending champion Dennis Lawler of Hudson tied Randy Wilburn of Deerfield (77) and will look to move up today at Windmill.


Jeff Dean of Copley, the 2016 Gold Division carded a four-under-par 68 to lead the field as three golfers went under-par at Sugar Bush.

Former champion John Sloe of Aurora and Jim Herchek of Chagrin Falls are in the championship pairing today but Randy Steele of Hudson, 2017 champion, carded a 74 and Jeff Luken of Middleburgh Heights and Randy Crider of Brunswick added 73 and 72 respectively seeking a spot on the final winners’ podium.


Ed Taber

Mike LingoEd Taber of Aurora (above) gave the Portage County town a golfer in each of the championship threesomes in all three divisions as he and defending champion Mike Lingo of Lady Lake, F (right) carded one-under-par 71s.

Gerald Musiel of Chagrin Falls carded an even-par 72 to round out the top three scores.


Golfers take over Windmill Lakes Golf Course Sunday beginning at 11 a.m. for the final 18-holes of the 49th Portage County Senior Amateur with trophies and gift certificates awarded following the conclusion of each division.

Spectators are welcome to watch the golfers battle it out on the tough fairways of Windmill.

Record Courier Portage County Amateur Championships

Sugar Bush Golf Course, Garrettsville | Par 72
Saturday, August 24, 2019

50-59 (SENIOR)
Geoffrey Burge, Aurora 73
Dave Peck, Macedonia 74
Ray McNiece, Cleveland 74
Dennis Lawler, Hudson 77
Randy Wilburn, Deerfield 77
Jeff Campbell, Canton 78
Bill Mooney, Brecksville 78
Rich Lloyd, Warren 79
Dave Cutlip, Brimfield 80
Rodney Staats, Stow 80
Mike Crawford, Sheffield Lake 81
Bill Jenkins, Canton 81
Troy Luckenbaugh, Uniontown 83
George Allen, Champion 84
Ed Marsinek, Streetsboro 84
Mark Ciccarello, South Euclid 88
John Sales, Akron 90
Bill Furey Twinsburg 99
Brad Pees, Alexandria, VA 100

60-69 (GOLD)
Jeff Dean, Copley 68
John Sloe, Aurora 70
Jim Herchek, Chagrin Falls 70
Randy Crider, Brunswick 72
Jeff Luken, Middleburg Hts. 73
Randy Steele, Hudson 74
Gary Congin, Chesterland 75
Robert Gintert, Newton Falls 76
Frank Livak, Brimfield 76
Dan Patrick, Aurora 77
Jack Pico, Niles 79
Lou Boarman, Mogadore 79
Sam Corabi, Painesville 79
Earl Miller, Champion 80
Ron Rositani, Willowick 80
Don Labaj, Berea 81
Bob Goulish, Tallmadge 82
Jack Cox, Parma 82
James Franks, Ravenna 84
Dave Moser, Streetsboro 85
Matt Habbyshaw, Aurora 87
Ron Benco, Strongsville 90
Kevin Breen, Fairlawn 92

70+ (Platinum)
Ed Taber, Aurora 71
Mike Lingo, Lady Lake, Fl. 71
Gerald Musiel, Chagrin Falls 72
Ken Krupa, North Royalton 74
Joseph Weidner, Thompson 75
David Pifer, Garrettsville 77
R.E. Duff Long, Mantua 78
Jim Crowe, Berlin Center 78
Robert Hall, Ravenna 78
Tom Ludlam, Atwater 79
Jerry Bobbs, Ravenna 79
Eli Maravich, Mogadore 83
Bernie Shell, Solon 84
Bob Mishler, Garrettsville 93

Previous RESULTS: 2019 Cloverleaf v Streetsboro Boys High School Golf
Next PHOTO GALLERY: 2019 Chippewa Championship RD1