PREVIEW: 2016 Greater Cleveland Skins Game

Steve Blackburn wins his fourth Thompson Cup

Steve Blackburn wins his fourth Thompson CupThe Greater Cleveland Skins Game will open up the 2016 season on Thursday April 14 at Fowlers Mill Golf Course. Defending Champion Steve Blackburn Jr. will hit the opening tee shot at 4:45 pm.

All amateurs are welcome to participate in Greater Cleveland Skins Game events. No pre-registration is necessary; simply show up 15 minutes prior to the start of the weekly events to get paired up with other competitors. The weekly entry fee is $32 plus the green fees.

The Thompson Cup is awarded annually to the winner. The Greater Cleveland Skins Game was originally started in 1990 at Fairway Pines Golf Course and is now rotated at various courses in the region.

Greater Cleveland Skins Game“This will be our 26th year,” states Skins Game Director John Niedzialek. “We are proud to provide an organized and competitive series of events for amateur players in our region. The Skins game has always been a blue-collar event trying to maximize the payment for our amateur players while trying to keep green fee rates under control (Green fees listed below). We are grateful to the many courses and sponsorship opportunities that allow the players to participate in the Greater Cleveland Skins game.”

Again this year, Mulligan’s Tavern from Highland Heights has donated $500 in sponsorship. In addition, many of the courses have provided sponsorships by reducing their green fees for our players. “Hats off to them!” says Niedzialek.

In 2016, all Senior players age 55 or older, and anyone with a documented handicap of 5 or higher, will be allowed to tee off from the next forward tee markers on all holes including the par 3’s. This is a change from previous years.

Also, there will be an optional additional skins game for senior players.

The extra $2 added to the entry fee this year will be distributed back to the players along with the $500 sponsorship funds from Mulligan’s Tavern at the end of the season as a pin shot bonus.

The Greater Cleveland Shootout will again be held at Madison Country Club on Labor Day Monday. This is a Greater Cleveland Skins Game sponsored event that offers one of the biggest one-day payoffs for amateur players in the region. Last year’s Champion was Rob Schustrich of Windham.

The season will culminate at Fowlers Mill GC on October 13, where the 2016 champion will receive the annual champagne toast and be awarded the Thompson Cup. Can someone knock off Steve Blackburn Jr.? Niedzialek says “no problem…”

John NiedzialekJohn Niedzialek
Executive Director
Greater Cleveland Skins Game



April 14: Fowlers Mill 4:45 pm
April 21: Little Mountain 4:45
April 28: Powderhorn 5:00 pm
May 5: Manikiki 5pm
May 12: Erie Shores 5pm
May 19: Pleasant Hills 5pm
May 26 : Fowlers Mill 5:00 pm
June 2 Madison CC 4:30pm
June 9: Chardon Lakes 5pm (Double Down $60 entry); must have played in 2 or more Skins events prior
June 16: To be Announced
June 23: Erie Shores 5pm
June 30: To be announced
July 7: Tanglewood 5 pm
July 14: Chardon Lakes 5pm
July 21: Legend Lakes CC 5 pm
July 28: Manikiki 5pm
August 4: Pleasant Hills 5pm
August 11: Sleep Hollow 5pm
August 18: Fowlers Mill 5pm(Double Down Event $60 entry); must have played in 4 or more Skins events prior
August 25: Chardon Lakes 5pm
September 1: Legend Lakes 5pm
September 5: Greater Cleveland Shoot Out- Noon –Madison Country Club
September 8 Tanglewood 5pm
September 15: Powderhorn 4:45pm
September 22: Madison CC 4:30pm
September 29: To be Announced
October 6: Little Mountain CC 4:15 pm
October 13: Fowlers Mill 4:00pm (Double Down event $60 entry and Trophy Presentation); must have played in 6 or more Skins events prior


Green Fee Rates w/ cart for above locations:
Tanglewood $25
Erie Shores $16.50
Fowlers Mill $23
Chardon Lakes $22
Legend Lake Country Club $23
Madison Country Club: $20
Manikiki $25
Powderhorn: $17
Little Mountain $20
Sleepy Hollow $25
Pleasant Hills $15



2001 Paul Kish
2002 Jeff Bors
2003 Tom Evans
2004 Patrick Tyrrell
2005 Patrick Tyrrell
2006 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2007 David Sotka
2008 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2009 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2010 Eddie Neer
2011 David Sotka
2012 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2013 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2014 Steve Blackburn Jr.
2015 Steve Blackburn Jr.

(Official records began in 2001)


Previous Northeast Ohio Golf Launches Stroke Play Series
Next Greater Cleveland Skins Game: Week 1 Results