FINAL RESULTS: 2016 Zoar Memorial

Jacob Appleby wins 2016 Zoar Memorial Golf Championship

Zoar Village Golf CourseThe 36-hole Zoar Memorial Amateur Championship was played Saturday and Sunday May 28 – 29th at Zoar Village Golf Course. There was some spectacular play.

First round leader Jacob Appleby of North Canton not only held on to his first round lead, but he extended that lead by firing a stellar 7-under par 65 to win by an incredible NINE strokes.

Appleby’s final round 65 was one stroke shy of the Zoar course record!

Eric Crone of Dover and Darren Phipps from Stow tied for second place with even par 144.

Gage Basiletti (Uhrichsville) was solo 4th at 146. Aaron Shanklin (Sugarcreek) finished in fifth place at 147, while John Jadgchew (Parma), Alex Talbot (Green) and Mitch Levengood (New Philadelphia) tied for sixth place at 148.

Brad Baker 2016 Zoar Memorial Senior Division ChampIn the Senior Division, Brad Baker (Warsaw) made his debut by claiming the champions trophy with a 1-over par two-day total of 145.

Doug Lockwood (Powell) had a fine tournament in his first tour around Zoar Golf Course and finished second place at 146. Jeff Dean, a familiar competitor in the Northeast Ohio tournament circles, had a superb second day and took home third place honors at 148. Lou Boorman (Cuyahoga Falls) and Dave Clarke (St. Clairsville), the 2015 Senor Champion, tied for fourth place at 153.

The next event on the Zoar tournament schedule is the Labatt Senior Amateur Championship on Saturday, June 11th.


Zoar Village Golf ClubFINAL RESULTS:
2016 Zoar Memorial Amateur Championship

Zoar Village Golf Club, Zoar, Ohio
May 28 – 29, 2016



Top 10 Finishers:

135 Jacob Appleby ($600 Merch.)
144 Eric Crone, Darren Phipps ($350 each)
146 Gage Basiletti ($200)
147 Aaron Shanklin (100)
148 John Jadgchew, Alex Talbot, Mitch Levengood ($40)

149 Ian Hardesty, John Tidenberg, Mike Koreski, Rob Schustrich



Top 10 Finishers:

145 Brad Baker ($400)
146 Doug Lockwod ($200)
148 Jeff Dean ($100)
153 Lou Boorman, Dave Clarke ($75)

156 Chris Dendler (Gilmore)
157 Jeff Sparks (Cincinnati)
158 John Perkowski (Dover)
159 Mark Ciccarello (S. Euclid)
160 George Allen (Warren)

Previous Cleveland Metroparks Golf Player of the Year Standings: May 2016
Next RESULTS: 2016 NOPGA Pro-Assistants Championship