FINAL RESULTS: 2014 Greater Cleveland Amateur Championship


Howard Clendenin 2014 Cleveland Am Champ
Howard Clendenin hits his second shot into the ninth green at Manakiki at the Cleveland Am on Sunday
Howard Clendenin hits his second shot into the ninth green at Manakiki at the Cleveland Amateur Championship on Sunday

Greater Cleveland Amateur Golf Championships44-year old Howard Clendenin of Seville is the hottest amateur player in Northeast Ohio.

One week after winning the Summit County Amateur at Good Park, Clendenin won the Greater Cleveland Amateur Championship at Manakiki on Sunday, posting a 54-hole total of 8-under par 208.

He shot three straight rounds under par — 71-67-70 — on a golf course he had never seen before Friday.

The five under par 67 on Saturday put Howard three ahead of his closest pursuer going into the final round. But it wasn’t the Sunday cake-walk he experienced in Akron.

Patrick Luth made five birdies in his Sunday round at the Cleveland Am.
Patrick Luth made five birdies in his Sunday round at the Cleveland Am.

Cleveland State player Patrick Luth made three birdies in his first six holes on Sunday to pull even with Clendenin out of the gate. But Luth made an ugly bogey on eight to fall a shot back. He rebounded immediately, though, as he hit the hole with his second shot on the ninth — but then missed the short birdie putt to pull back to level.

But Clendenin helped him out with that, giving a shot back on 10 as his tee shot when left and he was stymied by the giant hill that cuts across the fairway, forcing a chip out.

After both players made a par at 11 and a birdie at the short par-5 12th, a big momentum swing took place on the par-5 13th. Luth flared his tee shot right and could only hack it out of the rough to 40 yards short of the green. Clendenin killed his tee shot down the fairway, leaving just 155 yards remaining on the par-5. But he didn’t take advantage, as he hit his second shot over the green into some deep rough. After Luth pitched past the hole 15 feet, Howard’s deep little chip shot was a hacking half-skull that went all the way across the green. It looked to be advantage Luth — until Clendenin holed out the come-back chip for birdie. Luth missed his.

The pair traded pars on the next two holes. On the 16th, where the tee was moved up to just 287 yards to entice players to try to reach the green, Clendenin drove his ball pin-high left in the fringe while Luth found the right front greenside bunker. Clendenin two-putted for birdie, and Luth had to make a great 9-footer just to save par. Clendenin led by two shots with two holes to play.

On 17, Luth drove into the trees right then scrambled for his four while Clendenin made a simple, stock par.

Then Clendenin flat-out closed the door by hitting driver on the dangerous 18th tee and smashing it right down the middle to 90 yards out. Then he hit his sand wedge on the green, just above the hole. Luth birdied the final hole to close the gap to one shot (shooting 73-68-68!), but Clendenin had no problem negotiating the final 15 feet for the Championship.

Clendenin is the first player ever to win both the Summit County Amateur and Cleveland Amateur in the same year, and his victory earns him points in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.

The top ten finishers and ties earn an automatic exemption into the 2015 Cleveland Amateur at Sleepy Hollow. Sunday’s photo gallery here.

Cleveland Metroparks Golf pros Mike Raby (l) and Tom Kockensparger (r) flank 2014 Cleveland Am Champ Howard Clendenin
Cleveland Metroparks pros Mike Raby (l) and Tom Kochensparger (r) flank champion Howard Clendenin

 

Manakiki Golf Course
FINAL RESULTS:
2014 Greater Cleveland Amateur Golf Championship

Manakiki Golf Course, Willoughby Hills, Ohio
August 8 – 10, 2014 | Par 72

 

Player Rd1 Rd2 Rd3 Total
Clendenin, Howard 71 67 70 208
Luth, Patrick 73 68 68 209
McHugh, Tyler 72 72 68 212
Okeson, Chris 72 76 72 220
Sotka, David 77 73 71 221
Zoller, Taylor 77 72 72 221
Lemon, Nevada 77 71 73 221
Riemer, Jonathan 77 72 73 222
Frey, Matt 74 74 74 222
Prickette, Ryan 72 76 74 222
Blackburn, Steve Jr. 72 71 79 222
Schustrich, Rob 69 84 70 223
Minko, Paul 75 74 74 223
Stefanski, Ryan 75 72 77 224
Barber, Doug 77 76 72 225
Baggott, John Jr. 72 77 76 225
Oslie, Kory 74 74 78 226
Heran, Scott 78 75 74 227
Anagnost, Niko 77 72 78 227
Ritner, Ronald 73 74 80 227
Richey, Michael 77 76 75 228
DiPalma, Alex 74 76 78 228
Champa, Zach 71 75 82 228
Yacovazzi, Anthony 74 79 77 230
Metzendorf, Dan 78 74 78 230
Predovic, Dan 73 81 77 231
Walnsch, Chandler 77 81 75 233
Slabaugh, Cary 79 75 79 233
Roth, Mathew 78 81 76 235
Hardesty, Ian 72 82 81 235
Harman, Bob 80 79 77 236
Niedzialek, John 81 78 78 237
Angie, Mike 77 82 78 237
Moore, Tim 80 77 80 237
Pahr, Holden 78 75 84 237
Shoger, Erik 81 77 80 238
Meola, Benjamin 77 78 83 238
Bergold, Bill 82 77 80 239
Eifel, Jack 81 75 83 239
Young, David 79 80 81 240
Foss, Mark 75 80 87 242
Woznicki, Paul 74 82 87 243

1 Comment

  1. August 12, 2014

    A friend of mine who competed in the Cleveland Amateur told me of an unnecessary controversy which arose.

    It seems he hit his ball into the hazard to the left of No. 8 at Manakiki. He identified it as his ball (a Callaway with an identifying mark) and played it out of the hazard. A ball concealed beneath his (a Titleist) also came out of the hazard.

    Later, he was told by some misinformed competitors that he should incur a penalty for playing a wrong ball.

    From 15/2 in the Decisions on the Rules:

    15/2

    Player’s Stroke at Own Ball Dislodges Concealed Ball

    Q. A player plays a stroke with his own ball in the rough and also hits an old abandoned ball which was hidden beneath his ball. Since he struck the hidden ball, did he play a wrong ball?

    A. No. The player played a stroke with his own ball, not with the hidden ball. Since he did not play a stroke with the hidden ball, Rule 15-3 (Wrong Ball) is not applicable. The player must play his ball as it lies.

    Again, he played the shot from a lateral water hazard and not the rough. But nowhere in the Rules does it state this rule does not also apply to playing a stroke from a lateral water hazard.

    So if any of you P.J. Boatwright Jr’s. out there can prove otherwise, please speak up.

Previous PHOTO GALLERY: 2014 Greater Cleveland Amateur Championship
Next Mike Raby Hired Away from Big Met