Final Results: 2010 Medalist Tour Granite Classic

The Medalist TourEric Frishette took a huge step towards wrapping up The Medalist Tour’s Player of the Year honors by firing a 5-under par 66 at Shale Creek Golf Club Thursday for his fifth victory of the 2010 season. But Paul Wackerly sure didn’t make it easy for him.

Wackerly, the head pro at next week’s venue Carroll Meadows, came out firing a 4-under par 32 on the front nine to lead Frishette by two at the turn. But Frishette, the two-time All-American from Kent State, came right back with a birdie on 10 to pull within one. Frishette then birdied again on 13 to catch Wackerly. Both players birdied 14 then parred 15 through 17 to go to the last hole tied at 4-under. When Wackerly couldn’t get up and down to save par at the last, Frishette two-putted to win.

The victory earned Frishette $800 and pushed his leading money total to $6,880.00 on the year.

The Amateur Championship Flight finish was just as exciting. Kenny Kowall and Tommy Li both shot 2-over par 73 and headed to a sudden-death playoff. Each player was trying to win for the first time on tour. After both players matched par twice on hole number 10, the playoff went to the par-3 11th hole. Li hit first and hit his shot over the elevated green. Kowall’s shot landed just short of the green about 35 from the pin. Li attempted to hit a flop shot but the club slipped right under the club on the first attempt. He tried again and that shot landed short of the green. Kowall then putted up to around five feet. When Li’s putt missed, Kowall tapped in for the victory.

Walt Robertson matched par 71 to beat Mike Hastings by 4 shots in the Senior Open competition. Ken Fishman finished third with a 77 and Joe Nowak’s 78 was good enough for fourth.

There were some great scores in the Amateur Net Flight, with Kevin Zhang’s net 65 leading the way. Matt Knez finished one shot back at net 66 and Ken Fishman was another shot back in third.

Five skins were won on the day, each worth $120. The winners were Wackerly, Li, Dave Snell, Dan Rush and Mike Angie. Li and Zhang each won a pinshot and another $75.

The next event is Thursday, September 9th at Carroll Meadows Golf Club.

FINAL RESULTS: 2010 Medalist Tour Granite Classic
Shale Creek Golf Club, Medina, Ohio – Par 71

Eric Frishette ($800)343266
Paul Wackerly ($400)323567
Bob Sowards ($300)363369
Steven Lee ($100)353570
Vaughn Snyder ($100)373370
Ryan Stefanski383371
Walt Robertson ($200) (Senior)363571
Louis Lapos373673
Justin Krotine403474
Dan Rush383674
Mike Hastings ($100) (Senior)383775
Blake Boles383977
Joe Nowak (Senior)403878
Steve Shaw (Senior)443882
Russ Papa (Senior)434184
Mike DesseckerWD
Bob Karshner (Senior)WD
Championship Flight:OUTINTOTAL
Kenny Kowall ($200)363773
Tom Li ($100)363773
Mike Angie ($50)373774
Dave Snell373774
Josh DeWees363874
Carl Albright364076
Ken Fishman383977
Chris Walker384179
Matt Knez413879
Carl Behrens443983
Brian Smith434083
Alan Keeshock414384
Keith Scott474188
Kevin Zhang ($200)404080-1565
Matt Knez ($100)413879-1366
Ken Fishman ($50)383977-1067
Jamie Fiebig373673-568
Mike Angie373774-569
Dave Snell373774-569
Oscar Suski393877-869
Neil Callen444084-1569
Robert Cummins404181-972
Chris Walker384179-772
Richard Martin5649105-2877
Chris Plute454590-1080
Keith Scott474188-781
Paul Wackerly – $120
Dan Rush – $120
Dave Snell – $120
Tom Li – $120
Mike Angie – $120
Tom Li – $75
Kevin Zhang – $75
Previous 2010 Greater Cleveland Skins Game: Week 20 Results
Next Ross Beal Beats Tommy Li in a Playoff for 2010 Turkeyfoot Course Championship