88th Northeast Ohio Amateur ChampionshipThe 88th playing of the Northeast Ohio Amateur Championship is just four weeks away!

Get your entry in today for this long-running, history-filled event, played Saturday June 9th through Monday June 11th at Stonewater Golf Club in Highland Heights.

Originally known as the Plain Dealer Invitational, the Northeast Ohio Amateur Championship was re-branded by the Northern Ohio Golf Association starting in 1965.

The NEOAm has a history of illustrious champions, most notable, of course, is the late Arnold Palmer, who won as a young Coast Guard member in 1953.

Other notable past NEOAm champs include: three-time winner Bob Shave Jr. who played the pro tour; five-time winner and U.S. Senior Am champ Joe Ungvary Sr.; two-time winner and golf course architect Harold Paddock; many recognizable local amateurs like Bob Fairchild, Doug Hauenstein, Larry Nagy, Glenn Apple, Norton Brick, Tim Davis, Joe Skupski and Rick Bryson; and a handful of eventual pros like Bob Bourne, Karl Zoller, Rob Moss and Nick Latimer.

2017 NEO Am Champs Rob Schustrich and Jim Durr

Defending Champion (and Mid-Am champ too) is Robert Schustrich of Windham (above left), while the Senior Division champion is Jim Durr of Silver Lake CC.

The championship is three days/54 holes of golf (noon start Sat/Sun, 8a on Monday), three divisions, $275 entry fee. Entry deadline is Thursday, June 7th. Watch Northeast Ohio Golf for starting times and complete results!


No Comment

Leave a reply

Previous Follow NEOH Ams at 2018 USGA Four-Ball
Next 2018 Greater Cleveland Skins Game: Week 6 Results