Blackburn Jr. Wins 2013 Thompson Cup

Steve Blackburn Jr. 2013 Thompson Cup Champ
The Greater Cleveland Skins Game players crown a back-to-back champion in Steve Blackburn Jr.
The Greater Cleveland Skins Game players crown a back-to-back champion in Steve Blackburn Jr. at Powderhorn GC.

Greater Cleveland Skins GameSteve Blackburn Jr. won the 2013 Thompson Cup in back-to-back titles on Thursday at Powderhorn Golf Course in Madison, and in the process set an all-time record.

Blackburn Jr. won a pin shot on the night giving him $1,795.85 on the season, breaking the previous season record set by Eddie Neer in 2010.

Blackburn Jr. has been the Greater Cleveland Skins game Champion now for 5 seasons (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012, and 2013).

Blackburn Jr. won 14 skins and 4 pin shots on the season, and had a sizable lead going into the final night at Powderhorn and topped off his season by gaining the all-time record.

Sotka, Horne, Angie, Blackburn Jr.
Sotka, Horne, Angie, Blackburn Jr.

Finishing second was Dave Sotka of Chardon, the 2011 Champion with $1,171. Sotka had 9 skins and 5 pin shots on the year.

Chris Horne from Bay Village was third followed by Sam Corabi, the reigning Painesville Club Champion. Corabi at age 60 was also named “Senior Player of the Year.”

Mike Angie from Mayfield Hts. finished fifth and was the “Pin Shot” Champion of the year with 9 pin shots.

Blackburn Jr. becomes only the second player in Greater Cleveland Skins Game history to win both the Greater Cleveland Shoot-Out and the Thompson Cup in the same year. Paul Kish of Painesville Township was the last to do so back in 2001.

With his excellent year, Blackburn Jr. also won the season long Mulligan’s Cup sponsored by Sean Kreft of Mulligan’s Bar and Grill in Highland Heights. Blackburn Jr. was also named Greater Cleveland Skins Game Player of the Year for his overall 2013 performance.

Said Blackburn Jr., “Overall I had a pretty solid year. I was consistent and I made key putts when I had to. Being around this type of competition week in and week out brings out the best in everyone. Fortunately, I got hot late in the year to keep the momentum going when it counted the most.”

Results from Thursday at Powderhorn featured five skins, including two eagles.

Joey DiDonato made birdie on the long par-four 10th hole, Sam Corabi made birdie on the par-four 12th hole, Chris Horne made eagle on the short par-four 13th hole, Brian Perkins made eagle by chipping in on the short par-four 15th hole, and Dave Sotka’s birdie held up on the par five 16th hole. Skins paid $101.20 each.

Pin shot winners were Blackburn Jr. on the 170-yard 14th hole good for $78, and Louis Sliwiak won the Mulligan’s Pin Shot on the 175-yard 17th hole for $107.

Niedzialek with the Champ
Niedzialek with the Champ

The Greater Cleveland Skins game is open to all amateur players. John Niedzialek, Greater Cleveland Skins game Director stated, “This is our 23rd year and Steve Blackburn Jr. is to be credited for a great performance. A special thank you goes out to all our courses that have helped us this past year with reduced rates for our players and a special thanks to Mulligan’s Bar & Grill for sponsorship funding for Greater Cleveland Skins Game players.”

Over $11,500 was paid out in ‘skins and pins’ during the 2013 Greater Cleveland Skins Game season.

Dave Sotka of Chardon reacts to his near miss bunker shot for eagle on the last hole of the season at Powderhorn while Champion Steve Blackburn Jr. looks on with delight. The picture sums up Blackburne Jr.'s championship and Sotka's runner up performance on the season.
Dave Sotka of Chardon reacts to his near miss bunker shot for eagle on the final hole of the season, while Champion Steve Blackburn Jr. looks on and laughs. The picture sums up the 2013 Skins Game season!



PLAYERTOTALSkinsSkins $PinsPins $
Steve Blackburn Jr$1,795.8514$1,578.854$217.00
Dave Sotka$1,171.949$883.445$288.50
Chris Horne$944.736$884.731$60.00
Sam Corabi$934.656$725.653$209.00
Mike Angie$933.104$545.109$388.00
Steve Blackburn Sr$631.335$521.332$110.00
Brian Pentek$552.203$457.702$94.50
Joey DiDonato$551.805$416.303$135.50
Louis Sliwiak$481.833$325.832$156.00
Brian Perkins$456.303$261.304$195.00
Phil Bojc$401.533$292.532$109.00
Dan Predovic$342.252$247.252$95.00
Mark Foss$329.833$233.832$96.00
Nick Anagnost$322.332$268.331$54.00
John Niedzialek$285.331$107.333$178.00
Chris Plute$260.662$260.66
Eddie Neer$247.502$247.50
Lonnie Kammer$141.002$141.00
Bob Cline$115.001$115.00
Allen Freeman$109.251$109.25
Ron Miller$100.002$100.00
Rob Schustrich$99.331$99.33
Mark Borlin$80.501$80.50
Pat Tyrell$78.201$78.20
John Zook$68.001$68.00
Brandon Fouts$59.501$59.50
Tom Evans$42.001$42.00


2013 Mulligan’s Cup Final Results:
$500 donated by Mulligan’s Bar & Grill
1) $375 Blackburn Jr.
2) $227 Sotka
3)$160 Angie
4) $121 Horne
5) $75 Blackburne Sr.
6) $70 DiDonato
7) $65 Corabi
8) $60 Perkins
9) $55 Niedzialek
10) $52 Foss

Previous NEOH Players Miss Match Play at U.S. Mid-Am
Next Reimer Wins Cleveland Metroparks Golf Tour Championship; Sotka is Player of the Year