2016 NOPGA Junior Golf Tour Players of the Year

NOPGA Junior Golf Tour

NOPGA Junior Golf TourThe 2016 Northern Ohio PGA Junior Golf Tour’s Summer Season has drawn to an end with a successful Kenny Novak Championship at Club Walden. The outstanding course conditions at Club Walden provided a great test for the nearly 100 Juniors.

This year’s event featured THREE sudden death playoffs! The Boys 16-19 and Boys 12 & Under PUPS playoffs were each decided in one hole on #10, while the Girls 16-19 playoff took two holes.

The Members at Club Walden continued to show tremendous support when welcoming the Junior Golfers to their course, especially Mr. Al and Sharon O’Neil. The O’Neil family has provided a $500 Scholarship for higher education to the winner of the Boys 16-19 and Girls 16-19 Division for over 35 years! This year, the scholarship recipients were Zach Mandry and Jacinta Pikunas.

2016 Players of the Year

With the Kenny Novak Championship event being a double point tournament, there were multiple Player of the Year titles up for grabs.

In Boys 16-19, Zak Supelak used a T3th place finish to capture his second POY title by over 200 points

In Girls 16-19 Christina Williams was unable to play at Walden, however she amassed enough points during the regular season to hold of a late run by Katie McCarthy.

For the Boys 13-15, the season provided an intense 4 way race between Andrew Wyss, Conner Stevens, Mark Dilling, and Mason Frazier. With a win at Walden, Wyss ended up edging out Stevens by just over 200 points.

Much like Zak Supelak, the Girls 13-15 had a repeat winner in Iris Shin. This is the third year in a row that a Shin sibling has had POY status!

Coming down to the final tournament, Boy 11-12 was anybody’s race. Joey Valentine would have need a win to edge passed Ian Bruchhauser, however Jack Vojtko pulled out a victory at Walden which secured Bruchhauser’s POY title.

For the first time, there was a tie in Girls 11-12 for POY. Ella Wong and Madison Reemsnyder both finished the year with 1100 points.

Previous FINAL RESULTS: 2016 Ohio Public Links Championship
Next FINAL RESULTS: 2016 Zoar Summer 2-Man Scramble