Ross Beal Beats Tommy Li in a Playoff for 2010 Turkeyfoot Course Championship

2010 Turkeyfoot Championship
Ross Beal holes his birdie putt for a playoff win over Tommy Li in the Turkeyfoot Championship

Turkeyfoot Lake Golf LinksRoss Beal and Tommy Li battled back and forth throughout the two-day Turkeyfoot Golf Links Course Championship in Akron this weekend.

With firm greens, tough hole locations, and a windy, rainy and chilly day on Saturday, Beal led with a first round score of 73 to Li’s 75.

But on Sunday the weather improved and the momentum turned, and Li posted a sizzling 32 on the front nine to Beal’s 39, taking a five shot lead into the final nine holes. It looked like Tommy Li might cruise to the championship.

But the firm conditions made the back nine tough, and Li made bogeys on 10, 11 and 14 to let Beal back into the race. Then Beal closed the gap completely with a timely eagle on the par-5 16th, and the two players were tied going into the last two holes. But both players failed to close the deal as each player bogeyed both 17 and 18, and so it was off to a playoff.

Ross Beal 2010 Turkeyfoot Championship
Ross Beal pitches his second shot to the par-4 14th hole in Sunday's round.

The playoff began on Turkeyfoot’s first hole, and was mostly decided right after the tee shots. Beal drove the green with a fairway wood downwind to about 35 feet left, and Li missed his tee shot right and short. Li then pitched his second shot across the right-to-left swooping green, right next to Beals tee shot. Beal then putted up the hill to within 2 feet on his eagle attempt. Li missed his birdie effort, sealing the win for Beal.

Tommy Li 2010 Turkeyfoot Championship
Tommy Li sends his birdie effort across the green in the Turkeyfoot playoff.

Mike Simpson finished alone in third place at 151 after posting the low round of the tournament, a 1-under par 70 on Sunday.

In the Senior Divison, Dave Woodrum edged Jim Tarter by a single shot. Complete results below.

FINAL RESULTS: 2010 Turkeyfoot Course Championship
Turkeyfoot Golf Links, Akron, Ohio – Par 71 -September 4-5

Ross Beal7374147*
Tommy Li7572147
Mike Simpson8170151
Joe Hedrick7975154
Cari Hetler7679155
Chris Okeson7976155
Alan Keshock7780157
Rob Loomis8176157
Jim Niskanen7879157
Dave Woodrum8077157SR
Pat Feeney7682158
Joe Pappareone7880158
Jim Tarter8078158SR
Tim Davis8079159
Bob DeJulius8079159SR
Kelcey Eberly8180161
Nate Sargent8180161
Chris Helaney7884162
Jeff Tritt8181162
Ben Roberts8083163
Steve Wilson8578163SR
Dan Marr7886164
Mike Mozingo8282164
Joe Sutter8480164
John Donofrio8381164SR
Ron Sonedecker8480164SR
Bob Harmon8679165
Terry Szwast8085165
Ernest Johnson8679165SR
Steve Junsib8186167
Drew Thompson8285167
Dennis Berkheimer8286168
Tom Markham8286168
Fred Martin8287169
Tom Stack8188169
Kevin Zheng8683169
John Kern9080170SR
Mychal Agarenzo8685171
Mike Hiller8586171SR
JJ Grabowski8686172
Russ Rybka8686172
Doug Fleming8786173
Dan McElwain8589174
Steve Strasser8787174
Doug Yarnum9480174
Mike Yaich9183174
Bob Minno8985174SR
Charlie Mozingo9184175SR
Andy Pataki8392175SR
Jeff Hetler8492176
Robert Titus9385178
Oliver Palmer8594179
Jeff Lock8990179SR
Chance Phifer9190181
Jim Marrone9389182
Dan Schlue9391184
Ryan Westren9391184
Tommy Hinkle9491185
Ed Mozingo9393186
Jonathon Larabee9593188
Doug Hull9894192
Jim Rowe10395198SR
Robert Hale92DNSDQ
Kevin Larizza88DNSDQ
Adam Neate88DNSDQ
Brad Stewart87DNSDQ
John Snively90DNSDQSR
Tony Casalinoya94NCNC
Scott Coats87NCNC
Aaron Czetli94NCNC
Previous Final Results: 2010 Medalist Tour Granite Classic
Next PHOTO GALLERY: 2010 Cleveland Shoot-Out