Furlong, Brick Cruise to NEO Am Titles

Northern Ohio Golf Association

Northern Ohio Golf AssociationJohn Furlong and Norton Brick cruised to their respective Championship and Senior titles in the 2010 Northeast Ohio Amateur Invitational on Monday, in the 80th playing of this long running event presented by the Northern Ohio Golf Association.

John FurlongFurlong, a Medina resident and an incoming senior at Kent State, shot 2-under 70 at the Country Club of Hudson to win the Championship division by four shots over Mac McLaughlin. The scheduled 36-hole finish on Monday was reduced to just 18 holes due to early rain.

Norton BrickBrick posted a 2-over 74 to win his first Senior division crown of the Northeast by a whopping seven shots. Brick is the first player ever to win both divisions of the Northeast Ohio Am.

Read the Plain Dealer recap here.

Rd.1 – Quail Hollow Country Club – Par 72
Rd 2 –  Aurora Country Club – Par 71
Rd 3 – Country Club of Hudson – Par 72

Pos. Player R1 R2 R3 Total
1 John Furlong 70Q 71A 70H 211
2 Mac McLaughlin 74Q 69A 72H 215
T3 Zach Glassman 71Q 74A 71H 216
T3 Brad Steven 72Q 73A 71H 216
T5 Steve Blackburn 71Q 77A 70H 218
T5 Ross Beal 72Q 73A 73H 218
T7 Pete Skirpstas 74Q 72A 75H 221
T7 Rob Schustrich 69Q 75A 77H 221
9 Nathan Tarter 78Q 77A 68H 223
T10 Chris Minear 75Q 76A 74H 225
T10 Jonathan Riemer 70Q 76A 79H 225
T12 Larry Lahnan 79Q 73A 75H 227
T12 Bryn Irvine 77Q 74A 76H 227
T12 Dave Pulk 78Q 72A 77H 227
T15 John Burke 82Q 74A 73H 229
T15 Jim Stults 77Q 75A 77H 229
T15 Wesley Caudill 76Q 76A 77H 229
T15 Brian Smith 75Q 76A 78H 229
19 Joshua Zarlenga 80Q 75A 75H 230
T20 Doug Barber 74Q 83A 74H 231
T20 Isaac Charette 76Q 79A 76H 231
T20 Louis Durban 73Q 79A 79H 231
23 Rick Areddy 78Q 78A 77H 233
T24 Stephen Spalding 81Q 81A 72H 234
T24 Anthony Yacovazzi 79Q 79A 76H 234
T26 Ben Cavey 79Q 83A 75H 237
T26 Kay Ameen 81Q 80A 76H 237
28 Gary Wasilewski 79Q 80A 80H 239
29 Ben Lehrke 76Q 78A 86H 240
30 Saumil Jhaveri 82Q 86A 74H 242
31 Brennan Brooker 83Q 79A 84H 246
32 Mike Hochschwender 80Q 84A 83H 247
33 Keith Pluto 81Q 90A 88H 259
34 Leo Szczepanski 79Q 77A NSH NS
35 Dave Stover 85Q 79A NSH NS
36 Antonio Caniglia 87Q 84A NSH NS
37 Cory Blanchette 90Q 89A NSH NS


Player R1 R2 R3 Total
Norton Brick 70Q 72A 74H 216
Jeffrey Knox 72Q 74A 77H 223
Marc Fried 74Q 76A 76H 226
Mike Cassell 74Q 75A 77H 226
Mike Crider 78Q 74A 75H 227
Jim Harless 74Q 76A 77H 227
Michael Mintz 78Q 83A 81H 242
John Dmytriw 76Q 83A 84H 243
Steve Bedell 80Q 88A 76H 244
Bob DeJulius 81Q 83A 80H 244
Hugh Morgan 82Q 78A 86H 246
Dick Homovec 82Q 83A 89H 254
Joe Roller 73Q 81A NSH NS
Tom Bohardt 79Q 77A NSH NS
George Papas 79Q 79A NSH NS
James Corcoran 79Q 79A NSH NS
Dave Turrill 84Q 84A NSH NS
Pete Manuguerra 86Q 84A NSH NS
Jim Riley 91Q 86A NSH NS
Previous Lambos Captures ADGA 36-Hole Stroke Play
Next 2010 Chippewa Scratch League: Week 7 Results