Frustaci Captures Medalist Tour’s Medina County Open; Borlin Low Am

The Medalist TourJoe Frustaci was the only man in the field, professional or amateur, to match par on a tough Medina Country Club layout, and that was good enough to capture The Medalist Tour’s Medina County Open crown and the $1,000 professional winners check.

On a day when the stormy weather threaten but never appeared, Frustaci was able to stay calm. His score of 72 was two shots better than Medina CC’s Director of Golf Ben Farina, who finished second alone and won $500. New tour member Frank Garrett shot the lone 75 to finish third alone and win $400.

Mark Borlin was best among the amateurs in the Championship Flight, shooting a 77 to edge Mike Tepe by a shot. The win earned Borlin a $300 MasterCard Gift Card, while Tepe won $150.

Walt Robertson edged Mike Hastings by a shot to win the low Senior Professional prize of $300. It was the second straight win for Robertson in the senior division.

The next event is the Summit County Open on Monday May 24th at Portage Country Club. Entry details here.

FINAL RESULTS: The Medalist Tour’s 2010 Medina County Open
Tuesday, May 19th – Medina Country Club

1st Joe Frustaci ($1,000) 72
2nd Ben Farina ($500) 74
3rd Frank Garrett ($400) 75
4th Eric Frishette ($125) 76
4th Steven Lee ($125) 76
4th Ryan Gutowski ($125) 76
4th Vaughn Snyder ($125) 76
8th Dan Rush 77
8th Walt Robertson 77
10th Mike Dessecker 78
10th Mike Hastings 78
12th Ryan Stefanski 79
13th Jake Scott 80
13th Steve Weir 80
15th Chris Robertson 81
16th Adam Thomarios 82
16th Louis Lapos 82
18th Chip Knuckley 85
19th Joshua King 87
20th Russ Papa w/d

Senior Division
1st Walt Robertson ($300) 77
2nd Mike Hastings 78
3rd Russ Papa w/d
3rd Scott Cornell w/d

Amateurs – Championship Flight
1st Mark Borlin ($300) 77
2nd Mike Tepe ($150) 78
3rd John Furlong ($100) 78
4th Paul Kish ($50) 81
5th Carl Albright 82
5th Dave Snell 82
5th Mike Sweany 82
8th Joe McKensie 83
9th Ryan Rao 84
10th Danny Mosholder 87
11th Mike Hochschwender 88
12th Robert Coyne 91
13th Chris Plute 97

Amateurs – First Flight
1st Buddy Gerus ($200) Net 70
2nd Robert Cummins ($100) Net 71
3rd Jim O’Neill Net 74
4th Jim D’Orio Net 80
5th Kent Eckman Net 85

Skin Game:
Mike Dessecker ($170)
Jim O’Neill ($170)
Joe Frustaci ($170)

Pin Shots:
Walter Cohen ($20)
Ryan Gutowski ($20)
Adam Thomarios ($20)
Chip Knuckley ($20)
Mike Tepe ($20)

Previous 2010 Chippewa Scratch League: Week 2 Results
Next Amateurs Dominate U.S. Open Local Qualifying